Categories

Most Viewed

How to Track Someone on Google Maps Real Time Current Location

How to track Someone Location on Google Maps

How to Track Someone on Google Maps has been one of the frequently asked questions on Google and other platforms. Google maps are one of the most used products offered by Google.

You can use google maps to go to any particular location it will guide you the way. But lately, Google secretly added a new feature in which you can share your real-time location with someone.

This could be useful for parents who want to know the location of their children. Even this could be really helpful if you lost your phone then you can use this app although for that google provides find my phone feature.

The advantage of this is in this way you can track there location without them knowing you are tracking there location. But you need to get access to their phone to give yourself permission to access their location.

There are only two disadvantages of using Google Maps:

  • This app needs internet access to send you there live location. This is common and necessary for any app to send you data.
  • Another disadvantage will increase battery consumption. But I can say it was earlier significant but now Google has worked on it and now you won’t even feel any change in battery life but it will still consume just a little.

Now Coming to Advantages of using Google maps for tracking:

  • Accurate location Other apps also use google maps to show GPS coordinates.
  • No extra app needed to install.
  • Highly accurate.
  • In 90% of cases, it provides location accurately. Sometimes due to improper network, it will not be able to show data.
  • In comparison to other location tracking apps google maps uses very less power. Which means more battery life.
  • Other apps keep sending data when not require when you do not want to see. This consumes more internet data and consumes more power from the device.

 

Related:

Note: This article is just for educational purpose only. Track Someone On Google Maps without permission is not legal. If you do anything wrong we are not responsible for it.

 

How to Track Someone On Google Maps

How to Track Someone On Google Maps

To track someone location on google maps you need to have google maps, Access to Gmail of you and the user who you want to track.

When you give permission to yourself then it will send a mail to the person Gmail id which I hope will be open in the phone. You can allow yourself to gain access.

You also need google map in both devices and internet connection.

Let’s start, In this, I will call “A” to phone you want to get the location and “B” will be your phone.

  1. Open Google maps in device A.
  2. Click on the top left menu button.
  3. Scroll down and look for Location Sharing. If you can’t find then update the app.
  4. Now click get started button.
  5. You will get an option to choose the duration to track location if you want to track location for a particular time then select time by click + or – Button. If you want to track location for as long as you don’t switch off manually then choose the 2nd option.
  6. Now scroll down and choose the person with whom you want to share the location. Choose your name, If not shown you click more and type your email ID in the top box. Another way is you can scroll down and send tracking link to yourself using Whatsapp or SMS or using any other app.
  7. Now it will ask you for permission to turn on location sharing.
  8. You will sometime get an email to confirm location sharing on both email device A. If it directly starts you will get an email saying you are now sharing location with User B. You can delete the email if you do not want them to know about it.

Location Sharing setup is complete. You now just need to check it on your device.

To look at the current location you just need to open google maps and zoom out to look at the user’s current location. If the location says it is 10 minutes or 1 hour old then you can click on the name and click on refresh.

PS: If you want limited time tracking then you can choose the time between 15 minutes to 3 days. After that, it will be stopped automatically.

If you like this Tutorial please leave your feedback which will help us to know more about what we can do to improve us. 

Please leave feedback and ask us any question which you need help with like any tutorial. I will be happy to make an article for you. Don’t Forget to Share On your social media.

Ronak Toshniwal is known as "tech geek" around the community. He also likes to branch out and talks about a variety of topics like gaming to tv tech and more.

    Leave Your Comment

    Your email address will not be published.*